Morning Routine: Reboot

Routine and consistency are key to maintaining a healthy, proactive lifestyle! Yes, it can be difficult and it may take months or even years, but it IS worth it. My metabolism sucks and I needed something to change when I began my weight loss and healthy lifestyle journey! You can eat all the spinach you want and workout twice a day, but I firmly believe a routine is mandatory to stay on track.

My metabolism sucks and since life is so fair, I retain the majority of my excess weight in my abdominal area. Since I’s struggled with weight for such a significant portion of my life, its imperative, for me, to maintain consistency in my day to day life. It keeps the flow of the day and my journey on a solid path. Here’s a peak at my rebooted morning routine, just a couple changes from earlier this year.

Rise and Shine!
Wake up, stretch it out in bed and resist the temptation to check emails and social media immediately.

Refresh
Drink 12oz of room temperature water with lemon, place another 12oz on the stove for morning tea and pop a piece of toast or two in the oven!

Bright Eyed and Bushy Tailed
I wash my face with Pacha Soap Clarifying Charcoal  face bar, until my tea and toast is ready. I moisturize with my Say Yes to Tomatoes Face Moisturizer.

Feed Me
A few pieces of Food For Life Baking with nut butter and chia seeds, complimented with a green or berry smoothie. I add 2TBS of Bragg’s Apple Cider Vinegar to my morning Yogi Tea, usually Lemon Ginger Green Tea!  Yum.

Stretch it Out
After I brush with my homemade toothpaste, its time for yoga! I’ll either flow through my own vinyasa, if I have the time or I’ll follow a guided session. My favorites are Yoga by Candace and Tara Stiles. If I have the time or am feeling the motivation, I’ll leave the house for a guided session at a local studio. Yoga Six and Urban Om are close by and really great studios around the Eastside of Milwaukee!

Face Beat
Once I’m all stretched out and have completed my savasana, its time to brush my hair, throw on some mascara and run out the door! I am beyond low maintenance when it comes to my makeup routine, I just like to make sure I have something cruelty free and environmentally friendly as it can be. Below is a list of some awesome, PETA recommended vegan mascaras! Besides mascara, just a bit of under eye concealer and I am set.

http://www.peta.org/living/beauty/vegan-mascaras/

I work hard to be wild and free in all that I do in my life. However, I make the exception for my morning routine! It has taken me a long time to get where I am and I am becoming happier each day with my health. It is important that I can live my life to the fullest, I believe a healthy lifestyle is key to achieving that. Move your body every day. Make sure to eat plenty of greens and fruits. Love yourself. Be happy and laugh lots. Take the trip. Follow through with plans. Keep that morning routine and you’ll be clicking your heels and loving life even more, each day!

xoxo

 

Leave a Reply

