power of passion.

For the longest time I thought that success was a well paid, corporate job, with benefits and an office. After living that “dream” for nearly two years, I realized I had no idea what I was talking about. After dragging myself out of bed each morning and giving myself pep talks, it was clear  that corporate America wasn’t my dream. Letting my emotions guide me, I feel like I made one of the best decisions of my life.

Reading my blog and looking through my Instagram, I think its pretty clear that I care about the environment, a healthy lifestyle and my social life. Nothing about working in Sales for a hotel and theatre chain was allowing me to take that passion and incorporate it into my work life. I think it is important to make an impact on this world and the people in your life.

In the beginning I told myself the money was going to pull me through, and it did, for a few months. Eventually I realized that I was making all this money and not getting to do anything I loved with it. Vacationing and exercising are some of my favorite things to do but I never had the time. My job didn’t allow me to take vacation as often as I liked because it’s not possible in many of these corporate settings. I went to the gym every morning before work to prepare myself for the day ahead, but I barely got a decent workout in because I was too focused on what was going to happen at work! It just wasn’t working for me.

Recently, I’ve discovered my passion for yoga and wellness and wanted to incorporate those things I love into something constructive. The blog was a direct result of that revelation and my career change as well. We spend so much of our day and lives at work, it’s important for me to do something more than just work for a check. My life has become exponentially better since I discovered yoga and made it a focus in my life. Why wouldn’t I want to take that and make others feel the same? There is power in passion and I want to be one of those people that gives off and away that energy.

I won’t lie, I have been dragging my feet, looking for the perfect studio or school to get my certification. Fear of something brand new and starting over and a sense of failure as well. I have a hard time admitting that I often feel like I failed because I went to school for the life I had and it didn’t “work”. I shouldn’t care what people think and do what feels right in my heart, but we all know how that goes. Thankfully, I have an amazing group of friends and family that are supportive. Even better, a good friend of mine has also decided she is ready for a career change and we’re going to start touring schools for yoga and esthetician certification!

Life isn’t perfect and it doesn’t always go as planned. We fall in and out of things and discover things along the way. We find new roads and paths to take. People come into our lives and make different impressions and impacts on us. Some of us are lucky to find out passions in life the first time around, others get to take that journey many times. Life is a process and it is a beautiful one. It might not always feel that way but we are always learning and discovering and that is what life is all about!

Do new things! Take an art class, go out dancing or go back to school. Whatever it is that makes your heart swell and brings you joy. That is what you should be doing. Forget about social media and what people will say, push away everything but what you feel and follow it. Make it work for you! I think the world can and will truly be an amazing place if we could all find our niche and that thing that makes us happy.

Don’t sweat the small stuff! Your life is just that and you don’t ever have to justify or worry about what anyone else thinks about it. This is your journey and your path of greatness! Find your passion and spread it the best way you know how. Energy is powerful and when you are doing what you love the most, you glow! Your aura and energy can be seen and the people around you can feel it. Shouldn’t that be motivation enough to take the path of your choice? Choose the path that feels the best beneath your feet, because you’re the one taking it. Listen to yourself and let your heart guide you first and your head, second. Life is a journey, have fun all the way!

 

Leave a Reply

